Tags

, , , , , , ,

Trick or treating seems absurd to me, but that doesn’t stop me from doing it. On Halloween, children from all over the country pound on their neighbors doors, and threaten to trick them. Or give them a treat. Most children do that, while others wait in the pumpkin patch for a mythological creature. I mean, I love the idea of trick or treating. I mostly love the benefit on children, and severe money loss for adults who care enough to buy full-sized candy bars. Though throughout the years of doing it, I noticed how most kids make a checklist on which houses to hit, and which ones to skip. Children at a young age are brought up to believe that everyone is a good person, and I’m not saying that is bad. That just means they will still run up to the homes that seems to be entirely empty. Then disappointing goes over them as they walk of their sad looking porch.

I hate it when adults don’t respect the tradition of giving children candy. I’ve noticed adults hear children pound on the door, then stick their head between the curtains to see if the kids are still there. But that is a stupid move, because the kids can see that the adults are pretending to be in a galaxy far far away. I know this because while I was trick or treating tonight, there was a sign that said on a door,”No-ones home, sorry :`(.” But right when we were leaving, there were three cars in the driveway. And what makes that worse, someone turned the lights on right when they thought we averted our attention somewhere else. Though throughout the years, I noticed adults who think it is too late too soon. Last year, I was trick or treating with Lucas, and then we knocked at a door. We didn’t know what the time was, and that impacted us badly. A woman came outside, and she said,”It’s 8:01! Trick or treating is over! There’s no candy, no candy. Shoo!” We imitated her stupid voice for years.

Another extremely ironic thing is the “Take one” signs. Tonight while trick or treating, there was a bowl of candy. It was right after 3:00, and we were ready. But there was no one home, and there was a bowl of candy that said “Take one please” on it. Long story short: there was nothing in the bowl. I wish people had some kind of security system that would stop people like that. Come on, it’s annoying!

Another annoying thing about trick or treating is the plastic buckets. Never use them! They barely hold anything! I remember a time in first grade when I was trick or treating with one of those. The handle on the bucket broke, and I made my dad carry and pick up all the candy. That was one of the most annoying Halloweens ever.

The main thing I hate about trick or treating is the person who always gets more candy then you. This year my brother got about 356 pieces of candy, while I got 207. I actually counted them, I know. Call me insane, I can’t call it offensive anymore. But what I don’t get is that we went to the same exact places, at the same exact time. He didn’t hit any more houses then me, or any less. But yet he got 149 more pieces then me! While trick or treating, I set up a little organizer for my candy on a piece of paper. An it turns out that I got a whole lot of butterfingers, Reese’s peanut butter cups, whoppers, milk duds, 100 grands, Wonder woman rings (?), and tattoos. Marshall just got about a thousand of the actual good candies. While I got milk duds.

And finally, the most annoying things about trick or treating is adults not understanding your costume. You see, certain people lose connection with most characters on TV shows when they reach that age. So when you walk up to a porch, sometimes an adult mistakes Spongebob for “Oh I love your costume! You’re that little….uh…..square guy, right?” Last year I had a evil scarecrow costume, and the mask smelled like hay stained with horse pee on it, so I took it off. Then I walked up to a porch, and said trick or treat. Then the man on the porch said “Oh, are you a pilgrim?” I’m not saying tat adults are stupid, because that does make me sound like a hypocrite, but I’m just saying, look closely at the costume and think. It might come to you, even if you just say the person looks like a thing-a-ma-jigger. At least you said it was something.

