Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Well, it’s that time of year again. I’m sure you know what it is.

It’s Easter.

Featured image

No, wait, it’s my birthday.

For a few months now, I’ve been dreading a single taste of my birthday. Because I know it will be a seeping hot bowl of awkward stew for me. I know this because I was aware of the fact that there would be a person to come up to me, and say, “Happy Easter!” That person would not be aware of the fact that it was also my birthday, so for a moment I will be giving them a look, and doing a fake cough, like most people do during awkward situations, or just saying, “Move on…”

So, I’m not very hyped about it. I mean, of course I’m happy for it to be my birthday, but I’d rather it not be on Easter. How on Earth am I going to be able to fit it all in? We already have enough to do! Tonight, (because I’m a rebel) had my annual birthday pie, and we went out to Outback Steakhouse. But still, I don’t know how we’ll be able to fit it all in tomorrow, with there already being so much to do on Easter.

Easter has always been one of my favorite holidays. Always, we get a jump start in the morning while we break in to a sugar-fueled haze, and we tear the ears off of the chocolate bunny, gnawing of the wrapper of a Peep box, and sucking the cream from the middle of a Cadbury Cream Egg. Then, we endure the huge crash as we groan and moan on the car ride to our Nanny’s house. And, when we get there, we replicate the same exact thing that happened in the morning, by snagging all of candy in the house, and ravaging through her famous Easter bunny cake. Again, we crash in the car as we drive to our mom-mom’s house in the mid-afternoon. Finally, when we get there, we replicate the same exact thing that happened the last two times. To finish off the day, we drive home enduring the biggest crash of them all.

But that’s not really happening this year.

What will they do? Do they think that giving an Easter basket is enough for a present, and say that it is for both Easter and my birthday? Or will they just give me both? Will they even remember it’s my birthday, because it has never been on Easter before? Or am I just overreacting to something that didn’t even happen yet?

Oh, I’m not even really sure. I just feel really weird, knowing that tomorrow will be two things to celebrate for. I’m not sure if the family party will be devoted to my birthday, or Easter. I just love the Spring holidays, and just rushing through them both in one day seems like it will spoil the fun of waiting in prospect for Easter after my birthday had passed. But I really do think I’m over thinking it. I don’t need to think this hard about it. Just enjoy what’s happening, because if you keep rambling on about how weird and bad it may be it will just fly by without even looking on the good side of it at all. It won’t be nearly as bad as I’m describing it will be, because I’m no oracle. I can’t predict the future one bit. But if I did, like I’m trying to do right now, it will completely spoil the fun and surprise of it all. So, I think I need to just sit back, relax, and enjoy it all. To everyone, Happy Easter!! And a chocolate bunny to all!

Featured image

